SNW participants

The Future of the UMLS Semantic Network

A workshop organized on April 7-8, 2005
at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) in Bethesda, Maryland.
List of participants
Name Organization Address Email
Bruce Aronow Cincinnati Children's Hospital Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Divisions of Developmental Biology and Pediatric Informatics Director, Genome Informatics Core Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center University of Cincinnati College of Medicine CHRF 8504 3333 Burnet Ave Cincinnati, OH 45229
bruce.aronow@cchmc.org
Alan Aronson NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
alan@nlm.nih.gov 
Anantha Bangalore NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20895
bangal@nlm.nih.gov 
Margaret Basket NLM NLM Associate Fellow                  U.S. National Library of Medicine
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20896
basketm@mail.nih.gov
Olivier Bodenreider NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
olivier@nlm.nih.gov 
Allen Browne NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
browne@nlm.nih.gov 
Anita Burgun University of Rennes, France Medical Informatics Lab
University of Rennes, School of Medicine
Av. Professeur Leon Bernard
35043 Rennes Cedex, France
anita.burgun-parenthoine@univ-rennes1.fr
James J. Cimino Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons Professor of Biomedical Informatics and Medicine
Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons
622 West 168th Street
Vanderbilt Clinic, 5th Floor
jjc7@columbia.edu
Dina Demner Fushman NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20899
demnerd@mail.nlm.nih.gov
Jayanth Devasundaram
Pennsylvania Department of Health 
Epidemiologist, Syndromic Surveillance
Division of Infectious Disease Epidemiology
Pennsylvania Department of Health  P.O. Box 90, Room 933
Harrisburg, PA 17108
jdevasunda@state.pa.us
Guy Divita NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
divita@nlm.nih.gov 
Seth Edlavitch NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20896
edlavitch@nlm.nih.gov
Marcello Fiszman NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20895
fiszman@lhc.nlm.nih.gov
Kin Wah Fung NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
8600 Rockville Pike, Bldg. 38A
Bethesda, MD 20894
kwfung@nlm.nih.gov 
James Geller New Jersey Institute of Technology 323 Dr. King Blvd.
Newark, NJ 07102
geller@oak.njit.edu
Ying He NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20895
yihe@mail.nlm.nih.gov 
Susanne Humphrey NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine                               8600 Rockville Pike
Building 38A, Room 9N903
Bethesda, Maryland 20894
humphrey@nlm.nih.gov
Betsy L. Humphreys NLM Deputy Director, U.S. National Library of Medicine
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
humphreb@mail.nih.gov
Anil Jegga Cincinnati Children's Hospital Research Instructor
Department of Pediatrics and Division of Biomedical Informatics  Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center and University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Anil.Jegga@cchmc.org
Mehmet Kayaalp NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20895
kayaalp@nlm.nih.gov
Halil Kilcoglu NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
kilicoh@mail.nlm.nih.gov
Donald King NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20896
KingD@mail.nlm.nih.gov 
Anand Kumar  IFOMIS, University of Saarland University of Saarland Postbox 151150
D-66041 Saarbrücken
Germany
akumar@ifomis.uni-saarland.de
Gail Larkin WebMD Thesaurus Health Services Division GLarkin@webmd.net
Donald A.B. Lindberg NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20897
lindberg@nlm.nih.gov 
Ken Litkowski CL Research 9208 Gue Road
Damascus, MD 20872
ken@clres.com
Russell F. Loane NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20896
loane@nlm.nih.gov
Alexa T. McCray Harvard Medical School Center for Clinical Computing, BIDMC Harvard Medical School
330 Brookline Avenue
Boston, MA 02215
amccray@bidmc.harvard.edu
Aaron Navarro NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
navarro@nlm.nih.gov 
Stuart Nelson NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
MESH
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
nelson@nlm.nih.gov
Yehoshua Perl New Jersey Institute of Technology Professor, CS Department
New Jersey Institute of Technology 323 Dr. King Blvd.
Newark, NJ 07102
perl@oak.njit.edu
John P. Pestian University of Cinicinnati Associate Professor
University of Cincinnati
Director Computational Medicine Center
Associate Chair Biomedical Informatics Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
3333 Burnet Ave
Cincinnati, OH 45229-3039
john.pestian@chmcc.org
Tammy Powell NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
powellt@mail.nlm.nih.gov
Thomas C. Rindflesch NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
tcr@nlm.nih.gov
Laura Roth NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
lr165p@nih.gov 
Sonya Shooshan NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20896
sonya@nlm.nih.gov
Barry Smith
State University of New York, Buffalo
Julian Park Professor of Philosophy
State University of New York at Buffalo 126 Park Hall
University at Buffalo
Buffalo, NY 14260
phismith@buffalo.edu
Larry Smith NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A, Rm 614D
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
ls392a@nih.gov 
Charles Sneiderman NLM U.S. Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
charlie@nlm.nih.gov 
Suresh Srinivasan NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20898
suresh@nlm.nih.gov 
Lorraine Tanabe NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine, NCBI
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
powellt@mail.nlm.nih.gov
Lowell Vizenor University of Buffalo Department of Philosphy University of Buffalo 675 Potomac Ave Apt 4
Buffalo, NY 14222
lowell.vizenor@gmail.com
Jan Willis NLM U.S. National Library of Medicine
Building 38A
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
jwillis@nlm.nih.gov